Weather geeks

A place to discuss current weather, snow, and trail conditions, plus lift status and upcoming storms.

Weather geeks

Postby b632 » Sun Nov 19, 2023 8:46 am

What say you about the storm coming Wednesday?
Stop thinking and end your problems. -Lao Tzu
b632
Sugarloafer

Re: Weather geeks

Postby WrathOfAramark » Sun Nov 19, 2023 9:54 am

Kinda pessimistic on this one. No good forcing to push the storm to reform from the Ohio Valley to off the coast fast enough to stop the warm air getting all the way to the Canadian border. I think it will be a net loss. 2-4 inches of snow followed by rain. Good thing is winds shouldn't be too bad in Maine which is good because the ground isn't very frozen and there's a chance for about 1/10th of some ice accumulation from freezing rain as it changes over from the front end thump to rain especially in the elevated areas of northwest Maine.

Good news is it's 2 1/2 days away so models can be wrong.

Caveat: I am a complete amateur so I am 100% likely to be very wrong
WrathOfAramark
Sugarloafer

Location: If I said I was born and raised 1 mile from the NH border, would you still think me a Masshole?

Postby cccski » Sun Nov 19, 2023 10:29 am

From what I understand, the models are having one heck of a time with this storm. Three days ago, the NWS (National Weather Service) at Sugarloaf 2172 ft level had 40 degrees and rain. Two days ago it decreased to 35 degrees and snow to rain. As of this morning, it is calling for cold and heavy snow Tuesday night into Wednesday lasting until about 4PM with a high of 32 degrees, then into the 20s Wednesday night with snow after 1AM and then 32 degrees and partly sunny for Thanksgiving with a 30% chance of rain showers.

Following the storm, cold and windy.

Looking at the trend, therefore, each forecast has become more snowy. Having said that, the next forecast could be more rain.

I think predicting weather in the northeast is like trying to herd cats.